[]
[]

The Goddess Test

Carter, Aimée (Book - 2011 )
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
The Goddess Test
Print

Series that include this title


Item Details

When Henry--a mysterious boy who claims to be Hades, god of the underworld--makes a deal with Kate to help save her mother's life, Kate must pass seven tests and become Henry's immortal lover, or die trying.
Authors: Carter, Aimée, 1986-
Title: The goddess test
Publisher: Don Mills, Ont. : Harlequin Teen, c2011
Characteristics: 293 p. ;,21 cm
Summary: When Henry--a mysterious boy who claims to be Hades, god of the underworld--makes a deal with Kate to help save her mother's life, Kate must pass seven tests and become Henry's immortal lover, or die trying.
ISBN: 0373210264
9780373210268
Statement of Responsibility: Aimée Carter
Subject Headings: Fantasy Interpersonal relations Fiction Goddesses Fiction Immortality Fiction Mythology, Greek Fiction
Topical Term: Fantasy
Interpersonal relations
Goddesses
Immortality
Mythology, Greek
MARC Display»

Library Staff

304p. (Gr. 7+) Henry claims to be Hades, god of the underworld, and saves the life of Kate's mother. Kate must pass seven tests and become Henry's immortal lover or die trying. (Part of a series.)

When Henry, a mysterious boy who claims to be Hades, makes a deal with Kate to help save her mother’s life, Kate must pass seven tests and become Henry’s immortal lover, or die trying.


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Jun 22, 2014
  • Truffles125 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

I love this book. I love the idea of how a girl can go from normal to a greek god.

Jun 11, 2014
  • nessmr89 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

She is losing everything but here comes a boy to give her a chance to keep it all... is he dangerous or good for her? Will she make a deal with the devil and save a snotty girl she barely knows? Or will she turn and run? This book is amazing!

Feb 18, 2014
  • Nymeria23 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

I really liked this book. It seemed to me more realistic in the way the main character reacted. I would say the only thing that I didn't like was that it was a little predictable (maybe because I accidentally found the little character guide at the end of the book before I started reading. Warning; that is a spoiler).I wonder what's going to happen in the next book, though. I can't wait.

Aug 07, 2013
  • artemishi rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

I loved this book. As YA goes, it's fun and relatively par-for-the-course. However, where it truly shines is in surprises and mythology. I'm a fan of Greek mythology, and constantly disappointed with modern Greek myth takes. Most especially because they tend to Christianize the stories, de-empowering the goddesses and making Hades a Satanic figure. Which is, of course, asanine.

So I was greatly relieved, and excited, for The Goddess Test. This story was much more authentic to Greek mythology, and even I had a difficult time guessing who was who. I can't wait to pick up the next story, and I'm excited to learn more about the characters and the world. And Henry. :)

I recommend this for fans of YA, Greek mythology, coming-of-age, fantasy, and stories that feature strong female characters.

Jun 30, 2013
  • em4225 rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

This was the best book out of the series which is sad because it is the first. This series had the potential to be awesome but it is almost as though the author got tired of it at the end of the second and just threw the third together. It is a decent series but not one I would love to read again.

Jun 18, 2013
  • renheart115 rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

I thought the idea was creative and I expected so much more from this story and I didn't get it. I wouldn't say it was a hugee disappointment, there were some interesting concepts but I guess the flow and the character development didn't sit that well for me. I thought the Percy Jackson series portrayed Greek gods and goddesses in modern day a whole lot better. I thought Kate made friends awfully fast for a girl who didn't know how to make friends or whatever. She called James her best friend practically after the second day! And I thought it was unrealistic. And they could've explained the whole goddesses dying idea and then all of a sudden those "dead" gods and goddesses reappeared at the end because they're still part of the council? That didn't make sense to me at all. I felt like a whole of stuff were left unexplained. And the idea of the "seven tests" could've been more exciting, or at least I expected it to. The seven deadly sins aren't even part of Greek mythology I think, they're more Roman Catholic. So I thought the tests would have something to do with Greek myths and Kate would've got to prove her strength and overcome all these exciting tests/battles. But no. So it was definitely lower than my expectations. But it was interesting enough.

Jun 18, 2013
  • kitten97 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

This was a great book involving greek mythology in modern day. It was intriguing, exciting, and well written. It kept me reading until I finished. I recommend it for anyone who enjoys a mix of greek mythology and romance but also some action and mystery.

yes kokokoala, this is the first book. My friend is introducing me to the series and now I'm trying it.(ps. my friend is dying because of the new book not being able to come out for a wile :P)

Mar 18, 2013
  • kokokoala rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

is this the first book? i've been wanting to read this series but i don't know which one to start with!

such a great series, please read all of the books because i couldn't put them down they are that good! Can't wait till february 2013 for the next book after the goddess legacy.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

May 03, 2012
  • IreneReads rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

IreneReads thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Apr 22, 2012
  • GBear101 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

GBear101 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 11 and 19

Jan 03, 2012
  • Blue_Swan_40 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Blue_Swan_40 thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

Oct 09, 2011
  • BookFaerie27 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

BookFaerie27 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

Jun 18, 2013
  • GBear101 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

u should read it, sooooo then u'll know what the summary will be

When Henry--a mysterious boy who claims to be Hades, god of the underworld--makes a deal with Kate to help save her mother's life, Kate must pass seven tests and become Henry's immortal lover, or die trying.

It's always been just Kate and her mom—and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate's going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear her mother won't live past the fall.
Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld—and if she accepts his bargain, he'll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.

Kate is sure he's crazy—until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she succeeds, she'll become Henry's future bride, and a goddess.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at SCCLD

  Loading...

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf
You might also like...

Subject Headings


  Loading...

Related Blog Posts

No Blog Entries have been found about this title


Version red_eye (red_eye) Last updated 2014/09/02 12:32