[]
[]

Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt

Hedges, Chris (Book - 2012 )
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt
Print

Item Details

Two years ago, Pulitzer Prize winner Chris Hedges and award-winning cartoonist and journalist Joe Sacco set out to take a look at the sacrifice zones, areas that have been offered up for exploitation in the name of profit, progress, and technological advancement. They wanted to show in words and drawings what life looks like in places where the marketplace rules without constraints, where human beings and the natural world are used and then discarded to maximize earnings. The book starts in the western plains, where Native Americans were sacrificed for land and empire. It moves to the old manufacturing centers and coal fields that fueled the Industrial Revolution, but now lie in decay. It follows the steady downward spiral of American labor into the nation's produce fields and ends in Zuccotti Park where a new generation is revolting against a corporate state that has handed the young an economic, political, cultural, and environmental catastrophe.--From publisher description. "In the vein of Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Pulitzer Prize winner and bestselling author Chris Hedges and American Book Award winning cartoonist Joe Sacco bring us a searing on-the-ground report on the crisis gripping underclass America and crime-ridden poverty enclaves--in prisons, urban slums, and rural communities--metastasizing around the nation"--
Authors: Hedges, Chris
Title: Days of destruction, days of revolt
Publisher: New York : Nation Books, c2012
Characteristics: xv, 302 p. :,ill. ;,27 cm
Contents: Days of theft : Pine Ridge, South Dakota
Days of siege : Camden, New Jersey
Days of devastation : Welch, West Virginia
Days of slavery : Immokalee, Florida
Days of revolt : Liberty Square, New York City
Summary: Two years ago, Pulitzer Prize winner Chris Hedges and award-winning cartoonist and journalist Joe Sacco set out to take a look at the sacrifice zones, areas that have been offered up for exploitation in the name of profit, progress, and technological advancement. They wanted to show in words and drawings what life looks like in places where the marketplace rules without constraints, where human beings and the natural world are used and then discarded to maximize earnings. The book starts in the western plains, where Native Americans were sacrificed for land and empire. It moves to the old manufacturing centers and coal fields that fueled the Industrial Revolution, but now lie in decay. It follows the steady downward spiral of American labor into the nation's produce fields and ends in Zuccotti Park where a new generation is revolting against a corporate state that has handed the young an economic, political, cultural, and environmental catastrophe.--From publisher description.
"In the vein of Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Pulitzer Prize winner and bestselling author Chris Hedges and American Book Award winning cartoonist Joe Sacco bring us a searing on-the-ground report on the crisis gripping underclass America and crime-ridden poverty enclaves--in prisons, urban slums, and rural communities--metastasizing around the nation"--
Additional Contributors: Sacco, Joe
ISBN: 1568587104
9781568587103
1568586434
9781568586434
Statement of Responsibility: Chris Hedges and Joe Sacco
Bibliography: Includes bibliographical references (p. 287-291) and index
Subject Headings: United States Social conditions 20th century POLITICAL SCIENCE / Political Ideologies / Conservatism & Liberalism Crime United States Social classes United States Poor United States
Topical Term: POLITICAL SCIENCE Political Ideologies Conservatism & Liberalism
Crime
Social classes
Poor
LCCN: 2012004701
MARC Display»

Opinion

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Jul 15, 2014
  • StarGladiator rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

This book fundamentally explains the situation we have today: America contracting with China to build high speed rail: the predictable consequence of offshoring jobs, technology and investment to China [and elsewhere] while ignoring [not amortizing] America and its populace! The end result of a Jack Welch and GE!

Sep 11, 2013
  • mclarjh rated this: 2 stars out of 5.

Wonderful illustrations by Joe Sacco (no surprise there), but horrible text by Chris Hedges.

Feb 06, 2013
  • q22 rated this: 2 stars out of 5.

This is an apocalyptical vision of present day American life for the labour class. It is told primarily through a collection of stories of individuals abused by the American obsession with money and backed up with a bit of historical perspective/evidence. The graphic component of the novel is more of a distraction although it may be more compelling to other readers. I wouldn't put this on my short-list of reads.

Feb 06, 2013
  • delfon rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

I thought to write a review, but, after checking Amazon I found someone with a more complete and compeling take; Something to worry about with certain situations in Canada. A great easy read, words run, pictures by Sacco tell more than is written Democracy demands intellegence, knowledge, awareness and many other attributes, in its users, or it evaporates and leaves an ugly mess, 4 of which are listed herein. http://www.amazon.com/Days-Destruction-Revolt-Chris-Hedges/product-reviews/1568586434/ref=dp_top_cm_cr_acr_txt?ie=UTF8&showViewpoints=1

Anlother prerequisite read to this might be: "The Corporation by Joel Bakken".

Jan 19, 2013
  • Jane60201 rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

I thought this book was incredibly biased toward attributing U.S. poverty problems to corporations and describing the poor as victims (for instance, the use of illicit drugs in W. Va). Didn't realize it before I picked it up as it got so many good reviews. I think I more balanced approach to poverty would be more useful.

Nov 15, 2012
  • KevenKanten rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Interesting and intimate view into the economic segregation of the disadvantaged population of the U.S. using a combination of text and graphic novel portrayals. The only problem I had with this insightful book is that the writing clearly has a political perspective of anti-corporate gov't views/belief and though I can't say that view is incorrect, it would have been a better read if done from a journalistic unbiased perspective stating that view by asking questions of the reader instead of stating those views as facts. I recommend this to anyone that lives a comfortable life and thinks anyone has the means to escape poverty by just applying themselves. I admit, the stories about various successful communities that crashed and burned trapping the remaining populations in deplorable living conditions shows these changes could happen to any community providing the wrong circumstances were to evolve. Also, I hope that I never ever have to deal with the issues the people portrayed in this book have had to. Never. But a very good read for a topic that is somewhat depressing. The combination of text and graphic story telling keeps it from it being too dark a read.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at SCCLD

  Loading...


app08 Version tobio (tobio) Last updated 2014/09/24 13:12