[]
[]
All SCCLD locations will be CLOSED Sunday, April 20th for Easter. Holiday & Closures schedule.
Our library’s web catalog does use OpenSSL and was susceptible to the heartbleed vulnerability. All necessary patches have been applied. Read more

London Falling

Cornell, Paul (Book - 2012 )
Average Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.
London Falling


Item Details

While investigating a mobster's mysterious death, police officers Quill, Costain, Sefton, and Ross come into contact with a strange artifact and accidentally develop the Sight. Suddenly they can see the true evil haunting London's streets. Now the four officers take on the otherworldly creatures secretly prowling London. Football lore and the tragic history of a Tudor queen become entwined in their pursuit of an age-old witch with a penchant for child sacrifice. But when London's monsters become aware of their meddling, the officers must decide what they are willing to sacrifice to clean up their city. "Police officers Quill, Costain, Sefton, and Ross know the worst of London--or they think they do. While investigating a mobster's mysterious death, they come into contact with a strange artifact and accidentally develop the Sight. Suddenly they can see the true evil haunting Londons streets"--Dust jacket flap.
Authors: Cornell, Paul
Title: London falling
Publisher: New York :, Tor,, 2013
Edition: First U.S. edition
Characteristics: 402 pages ;,25 cm
Content Type: text
Media Type: unmediated
Carrier Type: volume
Notes: "A Tom Doherty Associates book."
Summary: [While investigating a mobster's mysterious death, police officers Quill, Costain, Sefton, and Ross come into contact with a strange artifact and accidentally develop the Sight. Suddenly they can see the true evil haunting London's streets. Now the four officers take on the otherworldly creatures secretly prowling London. Football lore and the tragic history of a Tudor queen become entwined in their pursuit of an age-old witch with a penchant for child sacrifice. But when London's monsters become aware of their meddling, the officers must decide what they are willing to sacrifice to clean up their city., "Police officers Quill, Costain, Sefton, and Ross know the worst of London--or they think they do. While investigating a mobster's mysterious death, they come into contact with a strange artifact and accidentally develop the Sight. Suddenly they can see the true evil haunting Londons streets"--Dust jacket flap.]
ISBN: 9781429946728
1429946725
9781429946728
076533027X
9780765330277
More » MARC Display»

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Report This Apr 05, 2014
  • x4052383922 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Loved this book! First thing I did once I finished it was reread it. Strong story, well developed characters, magic and horror who could ask for more. Can't blame them for their reluctance to tell the villain "You're 'nicked'". Satisfying ending with scope for a series if Cornell can keep up this quality. Urban fantasy at its best.

Report This Oct 17, 2013
  • StarGladiator rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Take one large and ancient cauldron, mix in bits of police procedurals, add two large cups of mystery, a dash of Dr. Who's tone, along with two tablespoons of paranormal horror, a sprinkle of London Noir, and you've got one helluva read by Paul Cornell! Just don't forget to add the special spices: eye of newt and dragon's blood to this ennervating broth! (For fans of Dean Koontz, Harlan Ellison, Fritz Lieber and similar authors.)

Report This Jul 16, 2013
  • claireswazey rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Terrific read.

Report This May 02, 2013
  • tardis rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Just finished London Falling by Paul Cornell. Wow, was this intense! Urban fantasy police procedural. Very dark, very good. At the beginning I wasn't sure, but once the team got going it never let up and the stakes were high (higher than anyone knew until the last bit). First time I think an Incident Board has been used in the search for a supernatural evil. Will appeal to fans of Ben Aaronovitch's Peter Grant fantasy/mysteries, but darker than those. First of a new series (Shadow Police).

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at SCCLD

  Loading...