[]
[]
We are in the process of updating our menus and apologize if you retrieve a black kitty 404 page. Please navigate back to www.sccl.org and use that menu to access our site. 

These Broken Stars

Kaufman, Amie (Book - 2013 )
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
These Broken Stars
Print

Item Details

"Two star-crossed lovers must fight for survival when they crash land on a seemingly uninhabited planet"--
Authors: Kaufman, Amie
Title: These broken stars
Publisher: New York :, Hyperion,, [2013]
Edition: First edition
Characteristics: 374 pages ;,24 cm
Content Type: text
Media Type: unmediated
Carrier Type: volume
Summary: "Two star-crossed lovers must fight for survival when they crash land on a seemingly uninhabited planet"--
Additional Contributors: Spooner, Meagan
ISBN: 1423171020
9781423171027
Statement of Responsibility: Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
Subject Headings: Love Fiction Survival Fiction Interplanetary voyages Fiction Science fiction
Topical Term: Love
Survival
Interplanetary voyages
Science fiction
LCCN: 2013010334
MARC Display»

Library Staff

Life is grand for Lilac LaRoux, daughter of the richest man in the Universe. Life is bearable for Tarver Merendsen, a celebrated war hero who worked his way up the ranks from a life of poverty. Their past doesn’t matter when they find their spaceship, The Icarus, is plunging through space and the... Read More »


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

I just want to let everybody know that if you really enjoyed this book, you can vote it for Hamilton's next top novel if you follow this link.

http://www.hpl.ca/articles/hamiltons-next-top-novel

Jun 24, 2014
  • Yahong_Chi rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

Not exactly a fresh sci-fi story, These Broken Stars is a standard futuristic trek across unknown lands to discover a secret hidden by the government-like powerhouse father of the female protagonist. Both characters, who get alternating chapters from their points-of-view, are believably developed, but there is nothing remarkable to this book that makes it stand out.

This book is amazing and the plot is interesting.

Mar 13, 2014
  • m2 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Very readable -- much better than the "clique" like beginning would have you think! I enjoyed the science fiction (though it clearly took a back seat to the romance). And the romance was pretty compelling. So a great first effort for Amie Kaufman and a great second series for Meagan Spooner. I really enjoyed the main portion of the book, which is really a survivor tale in a earth like wilderness. The book and plot does speculate about a real sci fi topic: what is the most likely first contact between humans and some other being? And tho' sad, I think we will recognize our world's tendencies critiqued. Not as incisively as Paolo Bacigalupi can do it, but credibly. I will definitely reserve the next book in the trilogy, This Shattered World to see what these 2 young authors come up with!

Feb 08, 2014
  • mbssmith rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

This was a beautiful book with great characters. There was one odd part in the middle, where I did not think Tarver's reaction was plausible for his character. Great ending, though.

Jan 19, 2014
  • JCLBethanyT rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Possibly the best YA Sci Fi I've read in the last year. Beautifully written, with vivid and haunting images (the ship crashing slowly onto the planet is something I won't forget for a long time,) this book also teems with romance, mystery and adventure. Perfect for fans of Across the Universe or For Darkness Shows the Stars.

Jan 13, 2014
  • JCLOctaviaV rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

Two young people forced together to survive on an unknown planet. Do they fall in love? Will there be death? Read the book to find out.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

The Icarus is the largest and most technologically advanced ship in the universe. Traveling across space in hyper-drive, the ship is transporting valuable cargo, Lilac LaRoux, daughter of the richest man in the universe...in fact her father built the ship. Tarver Merendsen is a young war hero, recently elevated to the rank of Major. An unlikely pair, the two are thrown together when the Icarus is violently pulled out of hyper-drive ripping the ship to pieces. The two barely have time to get to an escape pod before the ship is destroyed and Lilac and Tarver, the only survivors, crash land on an abandoned terraformed planet.

Survival dictates that Lilac and Tarver work together to get to the wreckage of the Icarus and send out a distress signal. But the two couldn't be more different, and working together is harder than it seems. But as they cross the foreign landscape, they learn to depend on each other, and trust in each other's strengths. By the time they reach the Icarus and discover they were the only ones to survive the crash, they aren't so sure they want to be rescued and go back to their lives as a wealthy heiress and army major.

The tale is woven with alternating chapters from Lilac and Tarver's perspectives. In between are chapters where Tarver is being interrogated about the crash...hinting at a hidden mystery underneath the tale.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at SCCLD

  Loading...