[]
[]

Every Day Is for the Thief

Fiction
Cole, Teju (eBook - 2014)
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
Every Day Is for the Thief
Print

Item Details

For readers of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Michael Ondaatje, Every Day Is for the Thief is a wholly original work of fiction by Teju Cole, whose critically acclaimed debut, Open City, was the winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award and a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award, and was named one of the best books of the year by more than twenty publications. Fifteen years is a long time to be away from home. It feels longer still because I left under a cloud. A young Nigerian living in New York City goes home to Lagos for a short visit, finding a city both familiar and strange. In a city dense with story, the unnamed narrator moves through a mosaic of life, hoping to find inspiration for his own. He witnesses the "yahoo yahoo" diligently perpetrating email frauds from an Internet cafe, longs after a mysterious woman reading on a public bus who disembarks and disappears into a bookless crowd, and recalls the tragic fate of an eleven-year-old boy accused of stealing at a local market. Along the way, the man reconnects with old friends, a former girlfriend, and extended family, taps into the energies of Lagos life'creative, malevolent, ambiguous'and slowly begins to reconcile the profound changes that have taken place in his country and the truth about himself. In spare, precise prose that sees humanity everywhere, interwoven with original photos by the author, Every Day Is for the Thief is a wholly original amalgamation of fiction, memory, art, and travel writing. Originally published in Nigeria in 2007, this revised and updated edition is the first time this unique book has been available outside Africa. You've never read a book like Every Day Is for the Thief because no one writes like Teju Cole. Praise for Every Day Is for the Thief "Every Day Is for the Thief, by turns funny, mournful, and acerbic, offers a portrait of Nigeria in which anger, perhaps the most natural response to the often lamentable state of affairs there, is somehow muted and deflected by the author's deep engagement with the country: a profoundly disenchanted love. Teju Cole is among the most gifted writers of his generation."'Salman Rushdie "Every Day Is for the Thief is a vivid, episodic evocation of the truism that you can't go home again; but that doesn't mean you're not free to try. A return to his native Nigeria plunges Cole's charming narrator into a tempest of chaos, contradiction, and kinship in a place both endearingly familiar and unnervingly strange. The result is a tale that engages and disturbs."'Billy Collins "Every Day Is for the Thief is an amazing hybrid of a book. Imaginative, original, experimental, and sensual, this book revisits the way narrative is constructed with tenderness and style."'Chris Abani, author of Graceland "[Teju Cole] casts a spell that's hard to classify. . . . Open City earned its author comparisons to the German writer W. G. Sebald, whose work wanders and ruminates in a similar way. Every Day Is for the Thief includes photos that Mr. Cole took in Lagos, a Sebaldian touch that is likely to keep the comparisons coming."'The New York Times ("Great Expectations for 2014") From the Hardcover edition.
Authors: Cole, Teju
Title: Every day is for the thief
fiction
[electronic resource]
Publisher: New York : Random House, 2014
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Content Type: text
Media Type: computer
Carrier Type: online resource
Summary: For readers of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Michael Ondaatje, Every Day Is for the Thief is a wholly original work of fiction by Teju Cole, whose critically acclaimed debut, Open City, was the winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award and a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award, and was named one of the best books of the year by more than twenty publications. Fifteen years is a long time to be away from home. It feels longer still because I left under a cloud. A young Nigerian living in New York City goes home to Lagos for a short visit, finding a city both familiar and strange. In a city dense with story, the unnamed narrator moves through a mosaic of life, hoping to find inspiration for his own. He witnesses the "yahoo yahoo" diligently perpetrating email frauds from an Internet cafe, longs after a mysterious woman reading on a public bus who disembarks and disappears into a bookless crowd, and recalls the tragic fate of an eleven-year-old boy accused of stealing at a local market. Along the way, the man reconnects with old friends, a former girlfriend, and extended family, taps into the energies of Lagos life'creative, malevolent, ambiguous'and slowly begins to reconcile the profound changes that have taken place in his country and the truth about himself. In spare, precise prose that sees humanity everywhere, interwoven with original photos by the author, Every Day Is for the Thief is a wholly original amalgamation of fiction, memory, art, and travel writing. Originally published in Nigeria in 2007, this revised and updated edition is the first time this unique book has been available outside Africa. You've never read a book like Every Day Is for the Thief because no one writes like Teju Cole. Praise for Every Day Is for the Thief "Every Day Is for the Thief, by turns funny, mournful, and acerbic, offers a portrait of Nigeria in which anger, perhaps the most natural response to the often lamentable state of affairs there, is somehow muted and deflected by the author's deep engagement with the country: a profoundly disenchanted love. Teju Cole is among the most gifted writers of his generation."'Salman Rushdie "Every Day Is for the Thief is a vivid, episodic evocation of the truism that you can't go home again; but that doesn't mean you're not free to try. A return to his native Nigeria plunges Cole's charming narrator into a tempest of chaos, contradiction, and kinship in a place both endearingly familiar and unnervingly strange. The result is a tale that engages and disturbs."'Billy Collins "Every Day Is for the Thief is an amazing hybrid of a book. Imaginative, original, experimental, and sensual, this book revisits the way narrative is constructed with tenderness and style."'Chris Abani, author of Graceland "[Teju Cole] casts a spell that's hard to classify. . . . Open City earned its author comparisons to the German writer W. G. Sebald, whose work wanders and ruminates in a similar way. Every Day Is for the Thief includes photos that Mr. Cole took in Lagos, a Sebaldian touch that is likely to keep the comparisons coming."'The New York Times ("Great Expectations for 2014") From the Hardcover edition.
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc
ISBN: 0812995791
9780812995794
Statement of Responsibility: Teju Cole
Subject Headings: Nigeria Fiction New York (N.Y.) Fiction FICTION / General Literary Identity (Psychology) Fiction Life change events Fiction Reunions Nigeria Lagos Fiction Homecoming Nigeria Lagos Fiction Nigerians New York (State) New York Fiction Fiction FICTION / Literary
Genre/Form: Electronic books
Topical Term: FICTION General
Literary
Identity (Psychology)
Life change events
Reunions
Homecoming
Nigerians
Fiction
FICTION Literary
Additional Physical Form Entry: Print version: 9781306514262
Publisher No: EB00164900
MARC Display»

Opinion

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Jul 27, 2014
  • bookwormjeph rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

An excellent read giving enormous insight into how the economy functions in Nigeria, the basis of which is the art of palm greasing, whether it be an 'early' xmas present or a direct bribe.
the story is of a Nigerian man who has lived in New York for many years but returns home and is shocked , but not surprised in a way, the level, extent and overtness of corruption at all levels of society. He attempts to rail against it at first but finds his principles compromised when renewing his passport. A touching, sad, but also uplifting tale of the reality of life in some countries- as Nigeria is not the only country to operate under such largesse.

Mar 27, 2014
  • mclarjh rated this: 2.5 stars out of 5.

Matter of fact storytelling, more a memoir or travelogue than a novel. The book is dotted with instantly forgettable photographs by the author.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at SCCLD

  Loading...


app06 Version Arkelstorp Last updated 2014/10/23 09:41