[]
[]
All SCCLD locations will be CLOSED on Monday, September 1, 2014 for Labor Day. 

Ruby

A Novel
Bond, Cynthia (eBook - 2014 )
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
Ruby
Print

Item Details

"Ephram Jenkins has never forgotten the beautiful girl with the long braids running through the piney woods of Liberty, their small East Texas town. Young Ruby, "the kind of pretty it hurt to look at," is already quite damaged, but Ephram is forcibly drawn to her. As soon as she becomes a young woman and has any power of her own, Ruby flees suffocating Liberty for the bright pull of 1950s New York City. Years later, when a funeral forces her to return home, 30-year-old Ruby will find herself reliving the devastating violence of her girlhood. With the terrifying realization that she might not be strong enough to fight her way back out, Ruby struggles to survive her memories of the town's dark past. Meanwhile, Ephram must choose between loyalty to the sister who raised and stood by him and the chance for a life with the woman he has loved since he was a boy"-- Loving the beautiful but damaged Ruby all of his life, Ephraim is torn between his dutiful sister and a chance for a life with Ruby when the latter returns to their small East Texas hometown and confronts the dark forces that traumatized her early years.
Authors: Bond, Cynthia, 1961-
Title: Ruby
a novel
[electronic resource]
Publisher: New York :, Hogarth,, [2014]
Edition: First edition
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file, rda
Content Type: text
Media Type: computer
Carrier Type: online resource
Summary: "Ephram Jenkins has never forgotten the beautiful girl with the long braids running through the piney woods of Liberty, their small East Texas town. Young Ruby, "the kind of pretty it hurt to look at," is already quite damaged, but Ephram is forcibly drawn to her. As soon as she becomes a young woman and has any power of her own, Ruby flees suffocating Liberty for the bright pull of 1950s New York City. Years later, when a funeral forces her to return home, 30-year-old Ruby will find herself reliving the devastating violence of her girlhood. With the terrifying realization that she might not be strong enough to fight her way back out, Ruby struggles to survive her memories of the town's dark past. Meanwhile, Ephram must choose between loyalty to the sister who raised and stood by him and the chance for a life with the woman he has loved since he was a boy"--
Loving the beautiful but damaged Ruby all of his life, Ephraim is torn between his dutiful sister and a chance for a life with Ruby when the latter returns to their small East Texas hometown and confronts the dark forces that traumatized her early years.
ISBN: 0804139105
9780804139106
Statement of Responsibility: Cynthia Bond
Subject Headings: Texas, East Fiction FICTION / African American / Historical FICTION / Literary First loves Fiction African Americans Fiction
Genre/Form: Love stories
Topical Term: FICTION African American Historical
FICTION Literary
First loves
African Americans
Additional Physical Form Entry: Electronic reproduction of (manifestation): Bond, Cynthia, 1961- Ruby New York : Hogarth, 2014 9780804139090 (DLC) 2013033049 (OCoLC)855606972
MARC Display»

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Jul 09, 2014
  • writermala rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

I couldn't get into this book for quite a while and even toyed with the idea of giving it up; but in the end i was glad I persevered. It was certainly different and heartrending. The characters are well drawn and the plot is well conceived.

"When they were kids, Ruby was the beautiful mixed-race girl whom preacher's son Ephram Jennings loved and others used. She escaped to New York as soon as she was able, and at 30, she came back to town. But the memories of the trauma she suffered there may be her undoing; she's been slipping towards madness for the decade since. Still in love with her, Ephram is torn between duty to the domineering sister who raised him and a chance for a life with Ruby -- one the townspeople seem determined to prevent. The town of Liberty is vividly depicted, as is the entrenched poverty, racism, and brutality of rural Texas in the 1960s and '70s. Told in poetic language, this debut is at times distressing, and will likely appeal to fans of Alice Walker and Toni Morrison." Fiction A to Z June 2014 newsletter http://www.libraryaware.com/996/NewsletterIssues/ViewIssue/f8a47f9a-47e1-421e-89e4-590a8c0bb5d0?postId=014b3586-7c3a-45ac-a7c4-7eb5a7b93283

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at SCCLD

  Loading...

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf

Subject Headings


  Loading...

Related Blog Posts

No Blog Entries have been found about this title


Version pocillo (pocillo) Last updated 2014/08/29 09:56