[]
[]
We are in the process of updating our menus and apologize if you retrieve a black kitty 404 page. Please navigate back to www.sccl.org and use that menu to access our site. 

Teens Read Twilight Read-a-Likes Pt. 1

Night Road
Night Road By Jenkins, A. M. (Book - 2008 ) / SF JENKINS A. Available in some locations

Annotation:Battling his own memories and fears, Cole, an extraordinarly conscientious vampire, and Sandor, a more impulsive acquantance, spend a few months on the road, trying to train a young man who recently joined their ranks.

Demon in My View
Demon in My View By Atwater-Rhodes, Amelia (Book - 2000 ) All copies in use. Availability details

Annotation:Seventeen-year-old Jessica Allodola discovers that the vampire world of her fiction is real when she develops a relationship with an alluring vampire named Aubrey and the teenage witch who is trying to save Jessica from his clutches.

Fairy Tale
Fairy Tale By Balog, Cyn (Book - 2009 ) / SF BALOG CYN Available in some locations

Annotation:Morgan Sparks and her boyfriend Cam have been best friends since they were children, but just before their shared sixteenth birthday Cam confesses that he is a fairy who was switched at birth with a human child, and now the fairies want to switch them back.

Tithe
Tithe A Modern Faerie Tale By Black, Holly (Book - 2002 ) / FICTION BLACK HOLLY Available in some locations

Annotation:Sixteen-year-old Kaye, who has been visited by faeries since childhood, discovers that she herself is a magical faerie creature with a special destiny.

A Great and Terrible Beauty
A Great and Terrible Beauty By Bray, Libba (Book - 2003 ) / FICTION BRAY LIBBA Available in some locations

Annotation:After the suspicious death of her mother in 1895, sixteen-year-old Gemma returns to England, after many years in India, to attend a finishing school where she becomes aware of her magical powers and her ability to see into the spirit world.

Prom Nights From Hell
Prom Nights From Hell (Book - 2007 ) / SS PROM Available in some locations

Annotation:A selection of stories from the most popular authors, including Stephenie Meyer and Meg Cabot.

Glass Houses
Glass Houses By Caine, Rachel (Book - 2006 ) / PB CAINE Available in some locations

Annotation:College freshman Claire Danvers has had enough of her nightmarish dorm situation. When Claire heads off-campus, the imposing old house where she finds a room may not be much better. Her new roommates don't show many signs of life, but they'll have Claire's back when the town's deepest secrets come crawling out, hungry for fresh blood.

Bloodline
Bloodline A Novel By Cary, Kate (Book - 2005 ) / PB CARY All copies in use. Availability details

Annotation:In this story told primarily through journal entries, a British soldier in World War I makes the horrifying discovery that his regiment commander is descended from Count Dracula.

Graceling
Graceling By Cashore, Kristin (Book - 2008 ) / SF CASHORE KRISTIN Available in some locations Holds: 3 on 16 copies

Annotation:In a world where some people are born with extreme and often-feared skills called Graces, Katsa struggles for redemption from her own horrifying Grace, the Grace of killing, and teams up with another young fighter to save their land from a corrupt king.

Marked
Marked By Cast, P. C. (Book - 2007 ) / PB CAST Available in some locations

Annotation:In this first book of a new series, 16-year-old Zoey Redbird enters the House of Night, a school where she will train to become an adult vampyre. Zoey finds she is no average fledgling. She has been marked by the vampyre Goddess, Nyx. But she is not the only fledgling with special powers.

City of Bones
City of Bones By Clare, Cassandra (Book - 2007 ) / SF CLARE CASSAND Available in some locations Holds: 10 on 34 copies

Annotation:Suddenly able to see demons and the Darkhunters who are dedicated to returning them to their own dimension, fifteen-year-old Clary Fray is drawn into this bizarre world when her mother disappears and Clary herself is almost killed by a monster.

Prom Dates From Hell
Prom Dates From Hell By Clement-Moore, Rosemary (Book - 2007 ) / PB CLEMENT Available in some locations

Annotation:High school senior and yearbook photographer Maggie thought she would rather die than go to prom, but when a classmate summons a revenge-seeking demon, she has no choice but to buy herself a dress and prepare to face jocks, cheerleaders, and Evil Incarnate.

High School Bites
High School Bites By Conrad, Liza (Book - 2006 ) No Longer Available

Annotation:Having learned on her sixteenth birthday that Count Dracula exists and lives in her hometown of Seattle, Lucy tries to save herself and her friends while wondering if her boyfriend is also a vampire.

Never Cry Werewolf
Never Cry Werewolf By Davis, Heather (Book - 2009 ) / FICTION DAVIS HEATHER Available in some locations

Annotation:Forced to attend a camp for teens with behavior problems, sixteen-year-old Shelby Locke's attempts to follow the rules go astray when she meets a handsome British werewolf.

Blue Bloods
Blue Bloods By De la Cruz, Melissa (Book - 2006 ) / PB DELACRU Available in some locations

Annotation:Select teenagers from some of New York City's wealthiest and most socially prominent families learn a startling secret about their bloodlines.

Bloodlust
Bloodlust By Duval, Alex (Book - 2006 ) No Longer Available

Annotation:At first, Jason Freeman enjoys his new high school, but later he notices too many strange events there which leads to a girl who washes up on the beach with a suspicious bite mark.

Hush, Hush
Hush, Hush By Fitzpatrick, Becca (Book - 2009 ) / SF FITZPAT BECCA Available in some locations

Annotation:High school sophomore Nora has always been very cautious in her relationships, but when Patch, who has a dark side she can sense, enrolls at her school, she is mysteriously and strongly drawn to him, despite warnings from her best friend, the school counselor, and her own instincts.

Sea Change
Sea Change By Friedman, Aimee (Book - 2009 ) / FICTION FRIEDMA AIMEE Available in some locations

Annotation:When her estranged grandmother dies and leaves her mother the family home on Selkie Island, sixteen-year-old Miranda meets her mother on the Georgia island, where she discovers mysterious family secrets and another side to her logical, science-loving self.

Beautiful Creatures
Beautiful Creatures By Garcia, Kami (Book - 2009 ) / FICTION GARCIA KAMI Available in some locations

Annotation:In a small South Carolina town, where it seems little has changed since the Civil War, sixteen-year-old Ethan is powerfully drawn to Lena, a new classmate with whom he shares a psychic connection and whose family hides a dark secret that may be revealed on her sixteenth birthday.

Evernight
Evernight By Gray, Claudia (Book - 2008 ) / FICTION GRAY CLAUDIA Available in some locations Holds: 1 on 7 copies

Annotation:Sixteen-year-old Bianca, a new girl at the sinister Evernight boarding school, finds herself drawn to another outsider, Jared, but dark forces threaten to tear them apart and destroy Bianca's entire world.

Sweetblood
Sweetblood By Hautman, Pete (Book - 2003 ) / PB HAUTMAN Available in some locations

Annotation:After a lifetime of being a model student, sixteen-year-old Lucy Szabo is suddenly in trouble at school, at home, with the "proto-vampires" she has met online and in person, and most of all with her uncontrolled diabetes.

Moonlight
Moonlight By Hawthorne, Rachel (Book - 2009 ) / PB HAWTHOR Available in some locations

Annotation:While working as a wilderness guide in the national forest where her parents were killed twelve years earlier, seventeen-year-old Kayla is powerfully drawn to Lucas, who she learns is her appointed guardian--and much more--as she discovers her true identity and destiny.

Need
Need By Jones, Carrie (Book - 2010 ) / SF JONES CARRIE Available in some locations

Annotation:Depressed after the death of her stepfather, high school junior Zara goes to live with her grandmother in a small Maine town, where new friends tell Zara the strange man she keeps seeing may be a pixie king, and that only "were" creatures can stop him from taking souls.

Fallen
Fallen By Kate, Lauren (Book - 2009 ) / FICTION LAUREN KATE Available in some locations

Annotation:Suspected in the death of her boyfriend, seventeen-year-old Luce is sent to a Savannah, Georgia, reform school where she meets two intriguing boys and learns the truth about the strange shadows that have always haunted her.

Fendi, Ferragamo, & Fangs
Fendi, Ferragamo, & Fangs By Kenner, Julie (Book - 2007 ) / PB KENNER Available in some locations

Annotation:Presents, in one continuous story, different points of view of Vamps Modeling, Inc., as three teens-one brilliant and studious, one content to be plump, and one party girl-are selected to be groomed as supermodels, unaware that their success depends on them becoming vampires.

The Good Ghouls' Guide to Getting Even
The Good Ghouls' Guide to Getting Even By Kenner, Julie (Book - 2007 ) No Longer Available

Annotation:Beth Frasier's junior year of high school is going great until she is turned into a vampire, so now she is trying to find a way to end her nightmare, and get revenge.

Meridian
Meridian By Kizer, Amber (Book - 2009 ) / SF KIZER AMBER Available in some locations

Annotation:On her sixteenth birthday, Meridian Sozu is whisked off to her great-aunt's home in Revelation, Colorado, where she learns that she is a Fenestra, the half-human, half-angel link between the living and the dead, and must learn to help human souls to the afterlife before the dark forces reach them.

The Silver Kiss
The Silver Kiss By Klause, Annette Curtis (Book - 2009 ) / SF KLAUSE ANNETTE Available in some locations

Annotation:Bitten by a vampire after being mistaken for her goth twin sister, Rayne, sixteen-year-old Sunny is in a race against time as she tries to prevent herself from becoming a vampire permanently.

Boys That Bite
Boys That Bite By Mancusi, Marianne (Book - 2006 ) / FICTION MANCUSI MARI Available in some locations

Annotation:Bitten by a vampire after being mistaken for her goth twin sister, Rayne, sixteen-year-old Sunny is in a race against time as she tries to prevent herself from becoming a vampire permanently.

Wildwood Dancing
Wildwood Dancing By Marillier, Juliet (Book - 2007 ) / SF MARILLI JULIET Available in some locations

Annotation:Five sisters who live with their merchant father in Transylvania use a hidden portal in their home to cross over into a magical world, the Wildwood.


English
Genre Guide