The Light Between Oceans

A Novel

Stedman, M. L.

Book - 2012
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
The Light Between Oceans
Print
"A novel set on a remote Australian island, where a childless couple live quietly running a lighthouse, until a boat carrying a baby washes ashore"--

Publisher: New York : Scribner, 2012
Edition: First Scribner hardcover ed
ISBN: 1451681755
9781451681758
1451681739
9781451681734
Characteristics: 345 p. :,map ;,24 cm
Alternate Title: Light between oceans

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Jan 09, 2015
  • mre5832 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

This is a fantastic book. I learned after reading it the second time that I enjoyed it even more and found more depth in what the author was portraying in the story and paralleling the characters with other things.

Jan 08, 2015
  • carolynlindstrom rated this: 2.5 stars out of 5.

Predictable, couple on island off Australia find a baby, ensuing complications when the real mother enters the picture. Not bad.

Dec 12, 2014
  • Ravenpicks13 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

This book is a good read. The book takes some turns in it that I did question. I also wondered if it was against adoption, but the ending was very well written. I do think it was a sad book. I think that it will move you with emotion and you will remember it, long after reading it.

Nov 26, 2014
  • ontherideau rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

A strong interesting start. Recommend for readers of Nicholas Sparks or Jodi Picoult

Nov 12, 2014
  • rdw39 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It kept my interest from beginning to end. Tom & Isabel are depictions of a couple whose ethical decision seemed very real, and as a reader, you could empathize with both in the decisions they must make. The Australian setting on an island where they tend a Lighthouse adds to the background of this well written novel.

Nov 05, 2014

This story is about the perception and distortion of (perceived) true love and loyalty. Even though the reader is aware that immediate decisions are "just not right," there's no way to warn or stop the characters because most of us empathize with trying to create happiness here and now and not consider the repercussions and cost

Oct 26, 2014
  • athompson10 rated this: 2.5 stars out of 5.

DEFINITELY an Oprah Book Club-type book. Sappy and a bit overwrought.

Oct 22, 2014

What happens when two people who love each other immensely are torn apart by conflicting ethics? Thought-provoking, intense, and thoroughly engrossing.

Oct 15, 2014
  • Aandrews19 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Captivating and haunting novel about our capacity for love and the toll of war. I was consumed by the story from the first page.

Oct 03, 2014
  • leebaker rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

I LOVED this book! Gripping story, and fascinating descriptions of what a lighthouse keeper actually does (or, did). The plot has some mystery, suspense, and emotional highs and lows that can keep one compelled to read to the end.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote

Nov 03, 2012
  • becker rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

“You only have to forgive once. To resent, you have to do it all day, every day.”

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Find it at SCCLD

  Loading...


app06 Version produkt Last updated 2015/03/30 12:38

[]
[]