London Falling

London Falling

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
While investigating a mobster's mysterious death, police officers Quill, Costain, Sefton, and Ross come into contact with a strange artifact and accidentally develop the Sight. Suddenly they can see the true evil haunting London's streets. Now the four officers take on the otherworldly creatures secretly prowling London. Football lore and the tragic history of a Tudor queen become entwined in their pursuit of an age-old witch with a penchant for child sacrifice. But when London's monsters become aware of their meddling, the officers must decide what they are willing to sacrifice to clean up their city. "Police officers Quill, Costain, Sefton, and Ross know the worst of London--or they think they do. While investigating a mobster's mysterious death, they come into contact with a strange artifact and accidentally develop the Sight. Suddenly they can see the true evil haunting Londons streets"--Dust jacket flap.
Publisher: New York : Tor, 2013
Edition: First U.S. edition
Copyright Date: ©2012
ISBN: 9781429946728
1429946725
9780765330277
076533027X
9781429946728
Branch Call Number: SF CORNELL PAUL
Characteristics: 402 pages ; 25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

x
x4052383922
Apr 05, 2014

Loved this book! First thing I did once I finished it was reread it. Strong story, well developed characters, magic and horror who could ask for more. Can't blame them for their reluctance to tell the villain "You're 'nicked'". Satisfying ending with scope for a series if Cornell can keep up this quality. Urban fantasy at its best.

s
StarGladiator
Oct 16, 2013

Take one large and ancient cauldron, mix in bits of police procedurals, add two large cups of mystery, a dash of Dr. Who's tone, along with two tablespoons of paranormal horror, a sprinkle of London Noir, and you've got one helluva read by Paul Cornell! Just don't forget to add the special spices: eye of newt and dragon's blood to this ennervating broth! (For fans of Dean Koontz, Harlan Ellison, Fritz Lieber and similar authors.)

c
claireswazey
Jul 16, 2013

Terrific read.

t
tardis
May 02, 2013

Just finished London Falling by Paul Cornell. Wow, was this intense! Urban fantasy police procedural. Very dark, very good. At the beginning I wasn't sure, but once the team got going it never let up and the stakes were high (higher than anyone knew until the last bit). First time I think an Incident Board has been used in the search for a supernatural evil. Will appeal to fans of Ben Aaronovitch's Peter Grant fantasy/mysteries, but darker than those. First of a new series (Shadow Police).

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SCCLD

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top