The Last Pirate

The Last Pirate

A Father, His Son, and the Golden Age of Marijuana

eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
In the tradition of Blow and Another Bullshit Night in Suck City, The Last Pirate is a vivid, haunting and often hilarious memoir recounting the life of Big Tony, a family man who joined the biggest pot ring of the Reagan era and exploded his life in the process. Three decades later, his son came back to put together the pieces. As he relates his father's rise from hey-man hippie dealer to multi-ton smuggler extraordinaire, Tony Dokoupil tells a larger history of marijuana and untangles the controversies still stirring furious debate today. He blends superb reportage with searing personal memories, presenting a deep chronicle of pot-smoking, drug-taking America from the perspective of the generation that grew up in the aftermath of the Great Stoned Age. Everyone knew a drug dealer back then. The Last Pirate is the story of what happened to one of them, to his family, and in a pharmacological sense to us all. It's a cultural portrait of marijuana's endless allure, set against the Technicolor backdrop of South Florida in the era of Miami Vice. It's a public saga complete with a real pirate's booty: more than a million dollars lost, buried or stolen. But it's also a deeply personal pursuit, the product of a son's determination to replant the family tree in richer soil. From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: New York : Doubleday, 2014
Edition: Unabridged
ISBN: 9780385533478
0385533470
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SCCLD

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top