Arcanum Unbounded

Arcanum Unbounded

The Cosmere Collection

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
A collection of stories encompassing the realms of the Shardworlds, Stormlight, Mistborn, and Elantris and more.
Publisher: New York : Tor Books, 2016
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780765391162
Branch Call Number: SF SANDERS BRANDON
Characteristics: 671 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm
Additional Contributors: Sanderson, Brandon


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Apr 08, 2019

Such a good book! It really expands your knowledge of the Cosmere.

Nov 07, 2017

While this was an amazing novella anthology taking place on several worlds in Sanderson's Cosmere universe, if you haven't read through Elantris, the first 2 Stormlight books and the first 3 Mistborn books, I would hold off before reading. While I don't mind being spoiled and wasn't particularly bothered by it, there are definite spoilers for a few series that might warrant caution. I had already read Secret History, but I can't recommend it enough to fans of the mistborn series. You don't 'have' to read it to get the main story, but it adds a great amount to it. Among my favorites were 'The Emperors Soul', 'Shadows for Silence in the Forests of Hell', and '6th of Dusk'. 'Edgedancer' takes place in the Stormlight Archive setting world of Roshar, and is about a street urchin who helps determine the ruler of a bureaucratic country. 'Emperor's Soul' takes place in a world where magic allows one to change the shape, history and even 'soul' of any thing or person with elaborate stamps. The main character is a master 'forger' who is imprisoned and awaiting death for illegal magics, commissioned to forge an artificial soul for an Emperor suffering from brain death. 'Shadows for Silence' takes place on the hellish world of Threnody, where people live alongside the violent ghosts of their deceased. The ghost's are only fully visible at night, and will brutally kill anyone they see that lights a fire, moves too quickly, or sheds the blood of another. 6th of Dusk, my favorite story in the book, takes place on world of islands covered in deadly plants and animals. The story revolves around Dusk, one of the last of a solitary culture of island rangers...those taught to survive the murderous plants and monsters of each island in order to forage and trade with the more habitable mainlands. Think of a blend of 'The Witcher' series (novels and games), The 'Avatar' movie and 'Last of the Mohicans'. The main plot revolves around Dusk surviving and helping another to survive the traps of the island, but the overall story is about the effects of technology and change on society. If you are caught up on the Mistborn hexology and the Elantris novel, Arcanum Unbounded is a must read.

Apr 08, 2017

Really great stories in this book. This is a book of short stories or novellas. This book, in a sense, ties all his different series together. Sanderson has written many different series, with different magic systems on different worlds. This book has stories that take place in the different worlds of his different series. It says in the forward that the stories were meant to stand on their own without needing to read the other series. However, I found myself thinking during many of the stories how glad I was that I had read the series before this story because I felt I got so much more out of the story, There were stories that took place in worlds in series I have not read and I still enjoyed those stories. Sanderson is an amazing writer, particularly in the way he is able to create characters, cultures, and magic systems and then explain them in ways that are entertaining, clear, and work. No fighting the movie when reading a Sanderson book for me.

forbesrachel Feb 09, 2017

Brandon Sanderson has written about many different worlds, and fantastical settings, peoples, and magic systems. Most of these are part of his Cosmere; the overarching universe which will one day be the focus of a series. While hints are abundant in his currently published works, they are not always easy to spot, if you don't know they are there to begin with. Arcanum Unbounded is the first work to give a better idea of what we might expect in the future. The book is split into the parts of the Cosmere. Each part introduces us to that realm before diving into a short story or two (most of these are side stories to his other works, meaning this is a book meant for those who have read at least a few of them). As expected, all of the stories are brilliant, this includes one about a brand new world where humans have a symbiotic relationship with certain birds that exhibit "talents". Arcanum Unbounded is well worth the time to read, both for its individual tales from the places we already love, and for its taste of what is to come.

Nov 25, 2016

I don't even have to read this to rate it five stars. It's by Brandon Sanderson. Enough said.


Add Age Suitability
Apr 08, 2019

Bacon_Dragon thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at SCCLD

To Top