Watch Me Disappear

Watch Me Disappear

A Novel

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:
"Billie is a beautiful Berkeley mom with a radical past--a teenage runaway from Northern California who took up with a group of environmental activists wanted by the FBI, lived dangerously, but when she meets Jonathan, a tech magazine editor and all around good guy, she settles easily into the life of an eco-conscious, stay-at-home suburban yoga mom. Their daughter Olive, under her mother's watchful gaze, becomes a lovely, introverted, slightly eccentric girl. As she reaches adolescence and needs Billie's full-time attention less, Billie throws herself into extreme sports--marathons, scuba diving, rock climbs, solo hikes. On one of these expeditions, Billie vanishes from the trail--only a hiking boot is found. The family is devastated--a year of intense mourning passes in which they await the closure that a body and a death certificate will bring. Jonathan drinks; Olive grows remote. But then she starts having waking dreams--hallucinations?--in which her very vibrant mother urges the girl to look for her, and Olive begins to believe her mother is still alive and in trouble. Jonathan believes the trauma and anxiety of losing her mother is making Olive ill, until he uncovers a secret that compels him to consider that Billie may not be dead after all and sends him on his own quest for the truth--about Billie, their marriage, and the things people do in the name of love."-- Provided by publisher.
"A beautiful Berkeley mom with a radical past vanishes while hiking, leaving her family to piece together her secrets, in this keenly observed novel for readers of Emma Straub and Maria Semple--from the bestselling author of all We Ever Wanted Was Everything"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Spiegel & Grau, [2017]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9780812989465
0812989465
Branch Call Number: FICTION BROWN JANELLE
Characteristics: 358 pages ; 25 cm
Alternative Title: Watch me disappear

Opinion

From Library Staff

“Billie is a beloved and loving wife and mother to Jonathan and Olive – or so they believe. Her disappearance while hiking dredges up secrets about Billie’s radical past, doubts about how well either of them knew the woman around whom their lives revolved, and questions about whether Billie is ev... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
BigOrange
Nov 10, 2017

Entertaining and kept me going - a good, light read

s
SJLoft
Oct 30, 2017

LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

r
ronandlynda
Aug 24, 2017

Featured in People Picks August 2017 (People Magazine)

Cynthia_N Jul 26, 2017

Thought I had it figured out but I did not! Great read!!!

g
gailjackman
Jul 25, 2017

I thought this book would be more "mysterious" than it really was, so I was disappointed in it throughout - even the ending which I'd predicted.

s
SaturdayLibrarian
Jul 11, 2017

I loved every second of this twisty, turning, could-not-put-it-down tale! There were so many gasp worthy moments that fans of the Husband's Secret would probably delight in. I would love for there to be a book two entirely from Billie's perspective.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SCCLD

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top