Select language, opens an overlay
Mr. President, How Long Must We Wait?

Mr. President, How Long Must We Wait?

Alice Paul, Woodrow Wilson, and the Fight for the Right to Vote

Book - 2019
Rate this:
"An eye-opening, inspiring, and timely account of the complex relationship between leading suffragist Alice Paul and President Woodrow Wilson in the fight for women's equality. Woodrow Wilson arrives in Washington, DC, in March 1913, a day before he is to take the presidential oath of office. He is surprised by the modest turnout. The crowds and reporters are blocks away from Union Station, watching a parade of eight thousand suffragists on Pennsylvania Avenue in a first-of-its-kind protest organized by a twenty-five-year-old activist named Alice Paul and led by a woman riding a white horse. The next day, the New York Times calls the procession "one of the most impressively beautiful spectacles ever staged in this country." [This book] weaves together two story lines: the trajectories of Alice Paul and Woodrow Wilson, two apparent opposites. Paul's procession of suffragists resulted in her being granted a face-to-face meeting with President Wilson, one that would lead to many meetings and much discussion, but little progress for women. With no equality in sight and patience wearing thin, Paul organized the first group ever to picket on the White House lawn--night and day, through sweltering summer mornings and frigid fall nights. From solitary confinement, hunger strikes, and mental institutions to ever more determined activism, [this book] reveals the courageous, near-death journey it took, spearheaded in no small part by Alice Paul's leadership, for women to win the right to vote in America. A rousing portrait of a little-known feminist heroine and an inspiring exploration of a crucial moment in American history--one century before the Women's March--this is a perfect book for fans of Keith O'Brien's Fly Girls and Jon Meacham's The Soul of America."--Dust jacket.
Publisher: New York : 37 Ink/Atria, 2019
Edition: First 37 InkAtria Books hardcover edition
Copyright Date: ©2019
ISBN: 9781501177767
1501177761
Branch Call Number: 324.623 CASSIDY
Characteristics: xii, 288 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

Celebrate Women’s History Month at SCCLD

March is Women's History Month. Check out one of these books from SCCLD and learn about the many women who have shaped, and continue to shape, the history of the United States. Women of the Blue & Gray America's Jewish Women A Girl Stands at the Door I Dwell in Possibility Together We Rise Mr. President, How Long Must We Wait? Notorious RBG Meg, Jo, Beth, Amy     (more)


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SCCLD

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top