Somewhere Only We Know

Somewhere Only We Know

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
1
Told from two viewpoints, teens Lucky, a very famous K-pop star, and Jack, a part-time paparazzo who is trying to find himself, fall for each other against the odds through the course of one stolen day.
Publisher: New York : Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2019
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780374310578
0374310572
Branch Call Number: / FICTION GOO MAURENE
Characteristics: 328 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

328p. (Gr. 9+) Told from two viewpoints, teens Lucky, a very famous K-pop star, and Jack, a part-time paparazzo who is trying to find himself, fall for each other against the odds through the course of one stolen day.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
p
penelopegomez
Jul 30, 2020

This was a really cheesy/ cute rom-com book. If you've ever been curious about what it's like to be a k-pop idol, then read this book. That aspect of the story was so interesting to me, but it was only loosely touched upon at the beginning of the novel. I wanted to know more! Basically in this novel Lucky a famous k-pop artist decides she needs a break from the starlight and decides to take the day off, after some ludicrous events land her unknowingly into the arms of Jack a tabloid writer/ photographer. Lucky has the upstanding reputation of being a "Good Girl" and Jack looking to launch his tabloid career decides to lead Lucky on a wild ride, all the while documenting everything for a scathing expose! I don't want to give any spoilers away but since it is a Rom-Com I think you can imagine how this "plan" is going to go. I did really like the setting and character development in this novel the only issue I had with this book, is that the story only spans 1 day, and I think that's just not enough time to fall in love in my opinion. So I wasn't completely sold on this romance. I also felt like the storyline was a little bit slow, like nothing really happened where I thought, 'yes this is definitely going to be a love connection!' It was basically two strangers getting to know each other on a very surface level. At the end of the story I felt like they still didn't really know each other enough to call it "LOVE." I just wasn't fully buying it. It was still a fun and light hearted read though.

m
mammothhawk229e
Oct 04, 2019

It's Roman Holiday, yet it's not for our two protagonist called each other in shallow box and not going for full potential of life.
It checked the boxes, it got the chemistry & it got the believable inner & outer conflicts.
Just author bad luck of of choosing exotic bustling Hong Kong given current unrest for democracy & human rights.

vpl_teens Sep 25, 2019

Reviewed by Simran G. for Teens Read it First

5/5 stars

Somewhere Only We Know is a heart warming spin on a classic and cliché story that we all know. It takes us through a journey that is unexpected and exciting. The two main characters, Lucky and Jack, are unique and mesh very well together. They’re so lovable that you root for them right from the beginning. This book may be full of romance, but that doesn’t mean it ever became boring or cheesy. It is super well written and I think everyone could enjoy this read.

VaughanPLKim Aug 27, 2019

I really enjoyed this book. I found the glimpse inside the life of a K-Pop star quite interesting, and I loved the vivid descriptions of all the places in Hong Kong Lucky and Jack visit (not to mention all that delicious food!). Recommended for those in search of a light romance.

k
kmelser87
Aug 09, 2019

2.5 stars

This is my first book by Maureen Goo and while I liked her writing the whole Roman Holiday-esque story line was just kind of meh for me. I love that movie and Audrey Hepburn as well as Gregory Peck but Jack as a character was nothing like Mr Peck for me and to be honest I found him to be super smarmy. Most of the story I felt an ickiness in my belly because of the lying he was doing and the fact that he was going to exploit her. It just left me feeling kinda yuck.

RandomLibrarian Jul 24, 2019

Review excerpt: "TW/CW: Potentially disordered eating.

'Somewhere Only We Know' is an adorable YA romance that feels very much like a modern Roman Holiday retelling between a K-Pop star and a freelance tabloid photographer. It’s light and incredibly sweet. This isn’t to imply that it lacks substance; there were just deeper issues that could have used extra exploration."

https://smartbitchestrashybooks.com/reviews/somewhere-only-we-know-by-maurene-goo/

OPL_KrisC Mar 13, 2019

A cute, fun romance for teens centered around K-Pop. For fans of Jenny Han & Kasie West.

Age

Add Age Suitability
OPL_KrisC Mar 13, 2019

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SCCLD

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top